Stewart-Haas Racing Collects First Win of 2015

Stewart-Haas Racing Collects First Win of 2015

Front Office Recognized by NASCAR as 2014 Marketing Team of the Year – All Sponsorship Inventory Accounted for in 2015

Stewart-Haas Racing (SHR), the championship-winning NASCAR Sprint Cup Series team, has already picked up a trophy in 2015, despite the season-opening Daytona 500 still days away.

At the annual NASCAR Marketing and Communications Summit in Charlotte, North Carolina, prior to Budweiser Speedweeks at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway, SHR earned the Top Marketing Team Award. The honor recognizes the NASCAR team operating at the highest standard of excellence while utilizing creativity, innovation and resourcefulness in the planning and execution of marketing campaigns.

The award comes after the 2014 season, where SHR sold all of its sponsorship inventory across all four of its race teams. SHR has repeated this feat in 2015, securing partnerships from such leading global brands as Anheuser-Busch, Bass Pro Shops, ExxonMobil, General Motors, GoDaddy, Haas Automation, Jimmy John’s, Aspen Dental, Code 3 Associates, ditech, Outback Steakhouse, Rush Truck Centers, Coca-Cola, State Water Heaters, Hunt Brothers Pizza, TaxACT and more.

“We are extremely honored to be recognized by the industry for the efforts of our marketing team and its strategic collaboration and execution with all of our partners,” said Brett Frood, executive vice president, SHR. “We had some internal restructuring last year and under the leadership of Mike Verlander, that entire aspect of our business has functioned with an elevated level of focus and analytical acumen.” 

Verlander was named vice president of sales and marketing in 2014 after serving as SHR’s director of business development since 2009.

“Our owners firmly believe in hiring the best people possible and letting them do their jobs,” Frood added. “Our strong rapport with our constituents and lack of sponsorship inventory is validation of the strength of our human capital.”

The human capital Frood referenced has been bolstered with the addition of Mike Dinerman, who joined SHR in late 2014 as the organization’s director of business development. Dinerman came to SHR from the television production industry where he spent 18 years working with NASCAR teams and sponsors drafting activation campaigns, which included short-form videos, satellite media tours and television commercials.

Since SHR’s on-track debut in 2009, the organization has expanded from fielding two, full-time teams in NASCAR’s premier series to four, full-time teams with a star-studded driver lineup that includes Tony Stewart, Danica Patrick, Kevin Harvick and Kurt Busch. In only six years of operation, the team has earned two NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championships and collected 27 wins.


About Stewart-Haas Racing:

Stewart-Haas Racing is the title-winning NASCAR Sprint Cup Series team co-owned by three-time Sprint Cup champion Tony Stewart and Gene Haas, founder of Haas Automation – the largest CNC machine tool builder in North America. The team fields four entries in the elite Sprint Cup Series – the No. 14 Bass Pro Shops/Mobil 1 Chevrolet for Stewart, the No. 10 GoDaddy Chevrolet for Danica Patrick, the No. 4 Budweiser/Jimmy John’s Chevrolet for Kevin Harvick and the No. 41 Haas Automation Chevrolet for Kurt Busch. Based in Kannapolis, North Carolina, Stewart-Haas Racing operates out of a 200,000-square-foot facility with approximately 280 employees. For more information, please visit us on the Web at, on Facebook at, on Twitter @StewartHaasRcng and on Instagram @StewartHaasRacing.

  • 19 February, 2015